Share:

PREVIOUS   |   NEXT

Participants

Quick Links


Participants are people or entities that are involved in Territory and Quota processes. This can include people or organizations with access to reports, as well as, individuals who have an active role in Territory Programs.  As organizations change, it may become necessary to add new participants or modify existing ones.

You can associate a participant with one or more positions that have assigned responsibility to given territories and targets.  Participant information typically includes basic demographics that are specific to the entity, such as a unique ID, first and last name, username, email address, salary, and various related dates such as hire and termination dates. You can also configure additional fields to capture information as required by your business processes using the Commissions admin portal. 

Click Organization > Participants to view a list of existing participants. You can search, create, edit and delete participants on this page. You can also import participant data from an external source, such as your HR system, and you can export participant data for use by other systems. 
 
To search for a specific participant, enter all or part of these parameters in the search box:
  • Participant ID
  • First Name
  • Last Name
  • User Name
You can also select a date from the date picker to filter for versions that will display in the list. 

The Participants page displays a list of all existing entities and the following options:

 

Name

Description

Create

Create a new participant.

Copy

Copy an existing participant.

Upload

Upload a spreadsheet to add participant data. The application expects the spreadsheet to conform to a template.  You can download this template using the Download option.

Download

Download a spreadsheet that contains data for all participants, selected participants, or a template that can be used to populate participant information.

Delete

Delete an existing participant.




Click on the name of any participant to display details for that specific participant record. The participant details page allows you to edit the details of a record, delete the record, and access record versions. The following actions are available: 

 

Name

Description

Cancel

Ignore all edits and return to the Participant workspace.
More: Manage Version
Enables you to edit a specific version of the participant record, or create a new version of the participant record.
More: Delete

Deletes the participant record.

Save

Saves changes to the participant record, or participant record version.



Create New Participant


To create a new participant, go to Organization > Participant:
  1. Click Create in the Participants workspace header.
  2. Add information about the participant:
  • Participant ID (Required): Unique identifier for the participant, commonly used to store corporate IDs such as employee IDs or numbers
  • Prefix
  • First Name
  • Last Name (Required)
  • Suffix
  • Base Salary
  • User Name: Unique value that will be the participant's login name
  • Tax ID: Social Security number or corporate tax ID
  • Hired: Participant's date of hire which may be different from the effective start date
  • Email
  • Business Units: Relative business units
  • Effective Start Date (Required): Effective start date for the record
  • Effective End Date: Effective end date for the record
  1. Click Save.

Copy Participant


To copy a new participant, go to Organization > Participant:
  1. Select the check box next to the record for the participant you would like to copy. Note: You can only copy one record at a time.
  2. Select Copy.
When you copy a record, all values of the original record are copied. The Participant ID value is prefaced with Copy of. The Participant ID and User Name values are always unique.

Participant Versions

Territory and Quota enables you to create multiple versions of a record so you can manage various changes over time. Each version can contain distinct information that is valid for the record at different points in time.

Depending on the view date you select within the application, the appropriate record version is displayed.

Effective dates indicate when a record becomes available in the application and the period of time for which the version is valid or effective. Effective dates appear at the bottom of the Details view on a record.

Versioning is available for these types of records:
  • Accounts
  • Account Classifier Hierarchies
  • Participants
  • Positions
  • Products
  • Territory Programs
  • Titles
The More: Manage Edit Versions option enables you to switch between different versions so you can view or change information for the record at any point in time. To view, add, delete, or edit a version, click the Edit Versions menu item under More

Use the Create button to create a new version. If you create a version that overlaps all or part of an existing version or versions, or if you remove a middle version, the remaining versions are automatically adjusted to support a continuous representation of the object over time.

Use the Delete Version button to remove the selected version. Upon deletion, you will be asked to fill gaps in time, if any, by extending either the prior version or the future version to cover any missing time period.


Related Articles