[+]
[+]
[-]
 [+]
  
 [+]
 [+]
  
 [+]
 [+]
 [+]
 [+]
 [+]
 [-]
  [+]
   
   
   
   
   
   
   
   
 [+]
 [+]
 [+]
 [+]
[+]
Updated on 12/10/2019
Workflow Documentation
Accounts
Direct link to topic in this publication:

PREVIOUS  |  NEXT

Accounts

Quick Links


The Accounts feature provides a convenient way for you to manage and store information about your business account entities. Along with a variety of standard fields, we provide billing and shipping information fields that users can populate on an account. 

Accounts is an optional feature that you can choose to enable or disable throughout Workflow. By default, the feature is enabled.

When disabled, users are neither able to create new accounts, nor see information related to existing accounts. 

When enabled, Workflow allows you to configure view and edit permissions on accounts, and enables you to add custom fields, forms, and other UI components to account entities. 

Disable Account Feature

To disable the Account feature, go to Setup > Users > Accounts and click the Click Here to Disable Accounts button. Workflow disables all configuration options in the Accounts workspace and removes the Accounts menu item from end user's top menu. Users will not be able to view or create accounts. 

Note: We retain existing account information that will become available if you later reinstate the Account feature.

Enable and Configure Accounts

By default, the Account feature is enabled. When disabled, you can activate the feature in the Accounts workspace. Go to Setup > Users > Accounts and click the Click Here to Enable Accounts button. Workflow immediately enables the Available Actions options in the Accounts workspace and will display the Accounts menu item to end users. When enabled, end users with permissions can create, view, and edit account entities. 

Workflow provides these available actions for accounts: 
  • View Account: Configure users who can view account information.
  • Modify Account: Configure users who can edit account information.
  • Custom Fields: Configure accounts with standard and custom fields.

You can also disable the Accounts feature by disabling the Active option in the View Account action. When you click Update  Workflow disables the feature as described above.


View Account

[Back to top]

Click the View Account link to open the configuration window. Workflow enables you to select which system roles and permission groups will have permissions to view account information. If you don't select any system roles or permission groups, all users will be able to view account information. 

Deactivate the Active option to disable the Account feature. When disabled, and you return to the Account workspace, the action items remain enabled for configuration until you refresh the screen. We also hide the Accounts menu item and users will be unable to view, add, or edit existing accounts. 


Modify Account

[Back to top]

Click the Modify Account link to open the configuration window. Workflow enables you to select which system roles and permission groups will have permissions to create and edit account information. If you don't select any system roles or permission groups, all users will be able to create and edit accounts. 

To disable create and edit permissions for all users, clear the Active checkbox in this window. This setting does not affect the view permissions you apply in the View Account window.


Custom Fields

[Back to top]

Workflow enables you to add custom fields to an account entity. When you add a custom field, Workflow creates a new Custom Data section below the Basic Info section on the account's edit window for end users. We place the custom field in the Custom Data section.

To add a custom field to an account entity:

  1. Go to Setup > Users > Accounts and click the Custom Fields link. Workflow opens the Form Designer.

    Note: If the Accounts feature is disabled, click the Click Here to Enable Accounts button to activate.


  2. Drag and drop custom fields from the Custom tab onto the page layout. For more information, see:
  3. You can drag and drop the Custom Fields Entry Point standard field from the Standard tab to the page layout, if desired. When added, the position marks the place where new custom fields will be placed when you add a new custom field to the workflow. See  Form Designer Standard Tab for more information.
  4. You can drag and drop a form from the Forms tab onto the page layout, if desired. See Form Designer Forms Tab for detailed information about adding and editing forms on a page layout.

    Important: If a form includes a standard field that is not allowed to be added to a Form Designer page layout, you will not be able to add the form to the page layout. Available standard fields vary by action type.

  5. You can also add these UI components to the page layout:
    • Section: Add a section with or without columns and other components to the page layout. See Section for detailed configuration information.
    • Text: Add a message to end users on the page layout. See Text for detailed configuration information.
    • Toggle Controller: Add a link to the page layout that executes a behavior when clicked by an end user. See Toggle Controller for detailed configuration information.
    • Images: Add an image to the page layout. See Upload Image to Page Layout for detailed information on uploading and adding images to your page layout.
  6. Drag and drop components on the page to rearrange the layout, if necessary. 
  7. Click the Save button that appears either below the tab section, or below the page layout section, to save your changes.