[+]
[+]
[-]
 [+]
  
 [+]
 [+]
  
 [-]
   
   
   
   
   
   
   
   
   
   
   
   
   
   
   
   
   
   
   
   
   
   
   
   
   
   
   
 [+]
 [+]
 [+]
 [+]
 [+]
 [+]
 [+]
 [+]
 [+]
[+]
Updated on 12/10/2019
Workflow Documentation
Add Comment
Direct link to topic in this publication:

PREVIOUS  |  NEXT

Add Comment 


The Add Comment action enables end users to add and reply to comments on a case. It is common to include this action on all statuses of a workflow as it facilitates communication between case stakeholders. You can also add the Add Comment action to any workflow action using the Form Designer.

You can also configure the Delete Comment action if you want to enable users to edit and delete comments they've added.

By default, Workflow automatically adds this action as a non-transitional action on all workflow statuses, and applies default configuration settings. You can deselect the action when you create a new status, and can add other actions. You can later remove actions, or modify the action settings.

When an end user clicks a Send Message action on a case, Workflow displays a popup window that enables the user to add the message as a comment on the case. Users can also add a comment when performing these other actions:


When an end user who belongs to a company adds a comment to a case, Workflow displays a Comment Visibility option for the user to make the comment public or internal. Internal comments are visible only to users in the same company.

Note: The end user must belong to a department that belongs to a company in order for the Comment Visibility option to display. The option then displays automatically.


See Departments for more information on assigning a Company to a department.


Workflow enables you to customize these specific settings for this action type:

Parameter

Description

Default Comment / Attachment Visibility

Select this checkbox to select public visibility by default for the attachment or comment. This option is enabled by default.


Submit Options

Displays the Submit and Next button that will automatically open the next case. 

Clear all approvals

Select to delete all user approvals in a multi user approval action, after the action executes. 


Follower Settings

Select from these options that are enabled by default:

  • Display the Follow this case option that enables users to follow a case.
  • Select Follow this case by default. 

Feed Activity Description

Enter the activity description that will display to end users in the Activity column on a feed.

Note: The user's feed must be configured to include the Activity column in order for the description to display. These options are enabled by default.

Used as Mass Update Action

Select this to option to enable this action as a bulk action. See Mass Update Permissions for more information. 

Message Shown After Action Execution

Enter a message that will display after the action is performed. 


Next Action System ID

Enter the system ID of the action that executes automatically after the current action.