[+]
[+]
[-]
 [+]
  
 [+]
 [+]
  
 [-]
   
   
   
   
   
   
   
   
   
   
   
   
   
   
   
   
   
   
   
   
   
   
   
   
   
   
   
 [+]
 [+]
 [+]
 [+]
 [+]
 [+]
 [+]
 [+]
 [+]
[+]
Updated on 12/10/2019
Workflow Documentation
Assign
Direct link to topic in this publication:

PREVIOUS  |  NEXT

Assign


The Assign action enables end users to manually assign a case to another user. The Assignment Rules settings determine how end users are able to select the case assignee. End users are able to add a comment when performing this action.

You can add the Assigned To field to any action using the Form Designer. When this field is added to another action, the Assignment Rules will still determine how end users are able to select the case assignee.

Workflow automatically adds this action as a transitional action between statuses when you first create a workflow.

Workflow enables you to customize these specific settings for this action type:

Parameter

Description

Default Comment / Attachment Visibility

Select this checkbox to select public visibility by default for the attachment or comment. This option is enabled by default.


Submit Options

Displays the Submit and Next button that will automatically open the next case. 

Clear all approvals

Select to delete all user approvals in a multi user approval action, after the action executes. 


Follower Settings

Select from these options that are enabled by default:

  • Display the Follow this case option that enables users to follow a case.
  • Select Follow this case by default. 

Feed Activity Description

Enter the activity description that will display to end users in the Activity column on a feed.

Note: The user's feed must be configured to include the Activity column in order for the description to display. These options are enabled by default.

Execute this Action Automatically

Select this option to enable automatic execution, when the case will change status. 

Note: We do not display this option when the case does not change status. We also restrict you to one automatic action per status.

Used as Mass Update Action

Select this to option to enable this action as a bulk action. See Mass Update Permissions for more information. 

Message Shown After Action Execution

Enter a message that will display after the action is performed. 


Next Action System ID

Enter the system ID of the action that executes automatically after the current action. 


On default, when a user performs this action, Workflow assigns the case to the current assignee. You can configure a different assignee in this section where you can also elect to allow multiple assignees.