[+]
[+]
[-]
 [+]
  
 [+]
 [+]
  
 [+]
 [+]
 [+]
 [+]
 [+]
 [+]
 [+]
 [+]
 [-]
  [+]
  [+]
  [+]
  [+]
   
   
   
   
   
   
   
 [+]
[+]
Updated on 12/10/2019
Workflow Documentation
Blocking Objects
Direct link to topic in this publication:

PREVIOUS  |  NEXT

Blocking Objects

Quick Links 

Blocking an object prevents it from being deleted or modified. Blocking applies to both active and inactive objects. Blocked objects are marked as read-only everywhere they appear in Workflow.

While you cannot delete or modify blocked objects, you can perform actions that do not modify them and change the object's relationships with other objects. For example:

  • You can add and remove cases from case lists, but not reassign cases.
  • You can add cases and contacts to a blocked account, but cannot delete the account.
  • Blocked users can log in and work, but cannot modify their personal data.

If you attempt to perform a forbidden action on a blocked object through the API, script, Migration Manager, or scheduled task, the following rules apply:

  • Single-object operations, such as deleting a single case, will fail and product an error message.
  • Bulk-operations, such as updating several users at once, will skip the blocked objects and update the other objects. The log entry will show which objects were skipped. 

After you unblock an object, you can edit and delete it. For more information about deleting objects, see Deletion Policy.

To Block an Object

  1. Go to Setup > Administration > Blocking Data.
  2. Click in the field you want, and select the object you want to block from the list.
  3. Click Update.

To Unblock an Object 

[Back to top]

  1. Go to Setup > Administration > Blocking Data.
  2. Click x next to the object you want to unblock.
  3. Click Update.

Allowed Actions for Blocked Cases

[Back to top]

You can perform the following actions on blocked cases:

Allowed Actions for Blocked Users

[Back to top]

You can perform the following actions on blocked users:

  • Log in and work in Workflow in the same way as unblocked users
  • Modify case assignments
  • Modify project roles 
  • Modify notification, assignment, and permission groups
  • Change departments and user types
  • Change preferences, password, notification rules, and out of office notifications

Allowed Actions for Blocked Accounts

[Back to top]

You can perform the following actions on blocked accounts:

  • Add cases and contacts
  • Remove cases and contacts

Allowed Actions for Blocked Contacts

[Back to top]

You can perform the following actions on blocked contacts:

  • Add contacts to accounts and cases
  • Remove contacts from accounts and cases
  • Send contacts a notification when they perform an action

Allowed Actions for Blocked Companies

[Back to top]

You can perform the following actions on blocked companies:

  • Edit departments and department assignments