[+]
[+]
[-]
 [+]
  
 [+]
 [+]
  
 [-]
   
   
   
   
   
   
   
   
   
   
   
   
   
   
   
   
   
   
   
   
   
   
   
   
   
   
   
 [+]
 [+]
 [+]
 [+]
 [+]
 [+]
 [+]
 [+]
 [+]
[+]
Updated on 12/10/2019
Workflow Documentation
Change Workflow
Direct link to topic in this publication:

PREVIOUS  |  NEXT

Change Workflow


The Change Workflow action enables users to move a case to another workflow. When a user executes the action, Workflow displays a list of available workflows to select from. You can restrict the list of available workflows that display to an end user by configuring the case visibility permissions. See Case Visibility Permissions for more information.

When a user submits the Change Workflow action, Workflow:

  • Prompts the user to complete any required fields that exist on the new workflow’s Case Create Action form that were not populated in the initial workflow. When the same fields exist in both the initiating and target workflows, Workflow persists the existing values and does not display those fields for users to edit.

  • Transfers the data from the initiating case to the new case when both workflows use the same fields.

  • Updates the case ID according to the new workflow and automatically applies it to all instances in the application.

  • Automatically redirects all links to this case ID that existed prior to the workflow change. This applies to links that may exist in emails and notifications.

  • Sets the status to the initial status defined in the case creation action for the new workflow.


NoteSince this action changes the workflow for the case, it does not matter if you place this action in a transitional or non-transitional position as it will be automatically placed in the initial status in the target workflow.


Workflow enables you to customize these specific settings for this action type:

Parameter

Description

Clear all approvals

Select to delete all user approvals in a multi user approval action, after the action executes. 


Feed Activity Description

Enter the activity description that will display to end users in the Activity column on a feed.

Note: The user's feed must be configured to include the Activity column in order for the description to display. These options are enabled by default.

Used as Mass Update Action

Select this to option to enable this action as a bulk action. See Mass Update Permissions for more information. 

Message Shown After Action Execution

Enter a message that will display after the action is performed. 


Next Action System ID

Enter the system ID of the action that executes automatically after the current action.