[+]
[+]
[+]
[-]
  
  
 [+]
 [+]
 [-]
   
   
  
  
  
 [+]
 [+]
 [+]
 [+]
 [+]
 [+]
 [+]
  
 [+]
  
Updated on 12/10/2019
Workflow Documentation
Commissions User Synchronization
Direct link to topic in this publication:

PREVIOUS  |  NEXT

Commissions User Synchronization

Quick Links


The Aruba version of Commissions provides a process that automatically synchronizes user and participant data between the Commissions and Workflow products. This section describes the synchronization process by which all participants and users that are created in Commissions are automatically synchronized with the Workflow tenant. When the Commissions and Workflow tenants are integrated, the process runs automatically in the background.

Synchronization Process

[Back to top]

The user synchronization process refers to the csi_user table to determine which users need to be created or updated in the Workflow tenant. This table is used to merge the participant and user data from Commissions and provides an inworkflow column in which you will enter either:

  • 0: Indicates that user has not been created.
  • 1: Indicates that user has been created.
Every ten seconds, the synchronization process attempts to create a Commissions user that does not already exist in Workflow. Depending on the number of users that need to be created, the interval may be only one second. We synch five users with every attempt.

Commissions use webservice APIs to create the users in Workflow. When a user is successfully created in Workflow, the inworkflow flag changes from 0 to 1 in the csi_user table.

The synchronization process also updates information the following user data in Workflow:

  • First Name
  • Last Name
  • Email
When a user or participant is terminated, the entry is automatically removed from the sci_users table, but the user synchronization does not remove the user from Workflow.

The synchronization process populates the Department or User Type fields in Workflow based on the mappings defined in the SAP Sales Cloud Portal setup. If the mappings are not defined, the default department and user type defined in Workflow will be assigned.

Workflow automatically generates a random user password when the user is created. Because users don't know this random password, they won't be able to change their password in Workflow. This prevents them from logging in directly through the Workflow login page.

User Synchronization Setup 

[Back to top]

You should provision the Workflow tenant when a new Commissions tenant is provisioned to ensure the tenants are linked and the synchronization process runs automatically between the tenants.

To connect Workflow tenant with corresponding Commissions tenant, at the time of tenant provisioning, or any time later:

  1. Open a case in NetSuite.
  2. Request the link to be created between the two tenants.
  3. Provide the Workflow URL, and a Workflow domain, administrator username and password in the ticket details. Those parameters are provided when a Workflow tenant is provisioned. The following parameters are applied in Commissions:
    • wkfl.domain
    • wkfl.service_url
    • wkfl.service_user
    • wkfl.service_password


User Type and Department Mappings

[Back to top]

User Type and Departments mappings are only available for Participants. On the Global Settings tab in the SAP Sales Cloud Portal setup, you can define which generic attributes from the participant's record should be used for User Type and Department when the user records are created in Workflow. The values stored in the Generic Attribute should be the System ID of the User Type and Department.  

Force User Synchronization

[Back to top]

You can request a forced user synchronization through a NetSuite ticket. For this request, set the inworkflow flag to 0 for all users in the csi_users table. The automatic synchronization will run and begin synchronizing all users.

Forced user synchronization is typically done for the following scenarios:

  • When moving from an implementation environment (sandbox) to production, all users and participants are often deleted and replaced with fresh data. Forced user synchronization runs to recreate the users in the Workflow production environment.
  • Upon initial connection of the Workflow tenant and the Commission's tenant, the inworkflow columns are set to 0 for all users. The synchronization will begin creating users in Workflow.

On-Premise Installations

[Back to top]

User synchronization is an on-premise installation of Workflow and Commissions behaves the same as described above. When the link between the two tenants is created, the appropriate Workflow URL needs to be used.

The user synchronization process also supports the scenario with an on-premise Commissions installation and an on-demand Workflow tenant. This requires you to open the appropriate ports in the firewall of the on-premise Commissions tenant so it can communicate with the on-demand Workflow tenant.

Errors During Synchronization

[Back to top]

Portal logs help determine issues and errors that may occur during synchronization, including a log for each attempt to create a user in Workflow. The log captures both successful and failed attempts, and while the log may be monitored during a forced synchronization, it is not monitored during routine synchronizations. The log is only reviewed upon request. 

Commissions consultants can review the portal logs to evaluate issues and errors that occur during the synchronization. Any issues need to be resolved, and the inworkflow flag switched back to 0 to ensure a successful synchronization.