[+]
[+]
[-]
 [+]
  
 [+]
 [+]
  
 [+]
 [+]
 [+]
 [+]
 [+]
 [-]
  [+]
 [+]
 [+]
 [+]
 [+]
[+]
Updated on 8/14/2019
Workflow Documentation
Contacts
Direct link to topic in this publication:

  |  

Contacts

Quick Links


The Contacts feature provides a convenient way for you to manage and store information about your business contacts. A contact represents a person that you can relate to an account. We do not restrict the number of contacts you associate with an account.

Contacts is an optional feature that you can choose to enable or disable throughout Workflow. By default, the feature is enabled.

When disabled, users are neither able to create new contacts, nor see information related to existing contacts. 

When enabled, Workflow allows you to configure view and edit permissions on contacts, and enables you to add custom fields, forms, and other UI components to contact entities. 

Disable Contact Feature

[Back to top]

To disable the Contact feature, go to Setup > Users > Contacts and click the Click Here to Disable Contacts button. Workflow disables all configuration options in the Contacts workspace and removes the Contacts menu item from end users' top menu. Users will not be able to view or create contacts. 

Note: We retain existing contact information that will become available if you later reinstate the Contacts feature.

Enable and Configure Contacts

[Back to top]

By default, the Contacts feature is enabled. When disabled, you can activate the feature in the Contacts workspace. Go to Setup > Users > Contacts and click the Click Here to Enable Contacts button. Workflow immediately enables the Available Actions options in the Contacts workspace and will display the Contacts menu item to end users. When enabled, end users with permissions can create, view, and edit contact entities. 

Workflow provides these available actions for contacts: 

  • View Contacts: Configure users who can view contact information.
  • Modify Contacts: Configure users who can edit contact information.
  • Customize Contacts: Configure contacts with standard and custom fields.

You can also disable the Contacts feature by disabling the Active option in the View Contacts action. When you click Update,  Workflow disables the feature as described above.


View Contacts

[Back to top]

Click the View Contacts link to open the configuration window. Workflow enables you to select which system roles and permission groups will have permissions to view contact information. If you don't select any system roles or permission groups, all users will be able to view contact information. 

Deactivate the Active option to disable the Contact feature. When disabled, and you return to the Contact workspace, the action items remain enabled for configuration until you refresh the screen. We also hide the Contacts menu item and users will be unable to view, add, or edit existing contacts. 


Modify Contacts

[Back to top]

Click the Modify Contacts link to open the configuration window. Workflow enables you to select which system roles and permission groups will have permissions to create and edit contact information. If you don' t select any system roles or permission groups, all users will be able to create and edit contacts. 

To disable create and edit permissions for all users, clear the Active checkbox in this window. This setting does not affect the view permissions you apply in the View Contacts window.


Customize Contacts

[Back to top]

Workflow enables you to add custom fields to a contact entity. When you add a custom field, Workflow creates a new Custom Data section below the Basic Info section on the contact's edit window.


To add a custom field to a contact entity:

  1. Go to Setup > Users > Contacts and click the Custom Fields link. Workflow opens the Form Designer.

    Note: If the Contacts feature is disabled, click the Click Here to Enable Contacts button to activate.


  2. Drag and drop custom fields from the Custom tab onto the page layout. For more information, see:
  3. You can drag and drop the Custom Fields Entry Point standard field from the Standard tab to the page layout, if desired. When added, the position marks the place where new custom fields will be placed when you add a new custom field to the workflow. You can also add these standard fields to the page layout: 

    Standard Fields
    Account
    Active
    Address 1
    Address 2
    Address 3
    Cell Phone 
    City
    County
    Department
    Email 
    Fax
    First Name
    Home Phone
    Job Title
    Last Name
    Middle Name
    Work Phone
    State
    ZIP/Postal Code


  4. You can also drag and drop a form from the Forms tab onto the page layout, if desired. See Form Designer Forms Tab for detailed information about adding and editing forms on a page layout.

    Important: If a form includes a standard field that is not allowed to be added to a Form Designer page layout, you will not be able to add the form to the page layout. Available standard fields vary by action type.

  5. You can also add these UI components to the page layout:
    • Section: Add a section with or without columns and other components to the page layout. See Section for detailed configuration information.
    • Text: Add a message to end users on the page layout. See Text for detailed configuration information.

    • Toggle Controller: Add a link to the page layout that executes a behavior when clicked by an end user. 
    • Images: Add an image to the page layout. See Upload Image to Page Layout for detailed information on uploading and adding images to your page layout.
  6. Drag and drop components on the page to rearrange the layout, if necessary. 
  7. Click the Save button that appears either below the tab section, or below the page layout section, to save your changes. 

Notify Contacts

[Back to top]

Workflow enables you to notify multiple contacts at the same time with the Notify Contact Mass Update action. You can use the action on the following user-side workspaces:

Important: The contact must already be added to a case for which you will execute the action.

To execute the Notify Contact mass update action, go to one of the workspaces listed above, and:

  1. Click the Mass Updates link on the header of a case panel.
  2. Select the Notify Contact action from the list in the first step of the wizard.
  3. Enter the Subject and Message you wish to send in the second step.
  4. Click the see all tags link to see a list of available tags you can use in your message.
  5. Click Next when your message is complete.

    Note: If you check the don't send notification checkbox in the popup window, we will not send the notifications.
    This checkbox will be removed in a future release.

  6. Select the cases you wish to include in the mass update.
  7. Click Finish.


Related Articles