[+]
[+]
[-]
 [+]
  
 [+]
 [+]
  
 [+]
 [+]
 [+]
 [+]
 [+]
 [+]
 [+]
 [+]
 [-]
  [+]
  [+]
  [+]
  [+]
   
   
   
   
   
   
   
 [+]
[+]
Updated on 12/10/2019
Workflow Documentation
Deletion Policy
Direct link to topic in this publication:

PREVIOUS  |  NEXT

Deletion Policy

Quick Links

You can set up a deletion policy to specify how long case, user, and log data should remain in Workflow.

Important: Blocked objects are not deleted per your deletion policy. For information about blocked objects, see Blocking Objects.   

To set the deletion policy:
  • Go to Setup > Administration > Deletion Policy.

Case Deletion Policy

The case deletion policy specifies how long closed cases should remain in Workflow.

The case deletion policy deletes all cases with a closed date greater than the specified number of months. For example, if you set the deletion policy to 48 months on November 1, 2018, cases that closed before November 1, 2016 will be deleted. 

The case deletion policy runs on the first day of every month at 3 AM, server time. 

To set the case deletion policy

  1. Click  next to Delete Cases.
  2. Specify the number of months in the Delete closed cases which were closed before field. 

User Deletion Policy

The user deletion policy specifies how long data for active and inactive users should remain in Workflow. 

  • Delete inactive users whose last login date is older than (months)
    Deletes users what were deactivated longer than the specified number of months. 
  • Delete users that haven't logged in and were created before (months)
    Deletes active users who were created the specified number of months ago and never logged in. For example, if you enter 12, users that were created and have not logged in for a year will be deleted.  

The user deletion policy runs on the first day of every month at 2 AM, server time.

Examples 

Inactive users whose last login date is set to older than 36 months. On November 1, 2018, the following will happen: 

LAST LOGIN DATEACTION

November 1, 2014

Delete

August 1, 2013

Delete
August 8, 2014Delete
December 1, 2017Keep
January 4, 2016
Keep
May 2, 2918Keep


Users who have not logged in and were created before is set to 36 months. On November 1, 2018, the following will happen: 

USER CREATION DATE ACTION
August 1, 2013​Delete
August 8, 2014Delete
November 1, 2015Keep
December 1, 2017
Keep
January 4, 2016Keep
May 2, 2018
Keep
 


To set the user deletion policy

  1. Click  next to Delete Users.
  2. Specify the number of months in the Delete inactive users whose last login date is older than and Delete users that haven't logged in and were created before fields. 

Log Deletion Policy 

The log deletion policy specifies how long log data remains in Workflow.

The log deletion policy is executed daily, as follows:

  • Scheduled tasks: 3 AM, server time 
  • Admin change logs: 2:30 AM, server time
  • System logs: 1 AM, server time
  • Script execution logs: 4 AM, server time 

To set the log deletion policy

  • Replace the default values in the Delete Logs section as needed.