[+]
[+]
[-]
 [+]
  
 [+]
 [+]
  
 [+]
 [+]
 [+]
 [+]
 [+]
 [-]
  [+]
   
   
   
   
   
   
   
   
 [+]
 [+]
 [+]
 [+]
[+]
Updated on 12/10/2019
Workflow Documentation
Departments
Direct link to topic in this publication:

PREVIOUS  |  NEXT

Departments

Quick Links


You can use departments to configure notification groups, visibility permissions, and create permission groups that are a combination of users, departments, and user types.

You can base departments on actual departments in your company, or another logical group of people that makes it convenient for you to manage permissions, notifications, and case visibility. For more information, see Permission Groups and Notifications

Every user belongs to a department and a department can have zero, one, or more users. Departments may or may not belong to a company.

The following diagram illustrates the relationship between users, user types, departments, and companies:


To access the Departments workspace, go to Setup > Users > Departments.

Create New Department 

[Back to top]

To create a new department:

  1. Click the Add New button.

  2. Complete the form fields:

  • Name: Enter a name.

  • System ID: A unique identifier, automatically generated when you name an object. You can use this identifier to reference an object in scripts, templates, tags, and through the API. You can change the System ID by selecting the pencil icon. Use caution when changing the ID as it can affect existing scripts associated with the object. For more information, see System ID.

  • Gate Keeper: Select a user to represent this case role type. You can later use this role in workflow assignment rules to assign actions, or in notifications to send notifications to the gate keeper.

  • Company: Select the company the department will belong to.

  • Visibility Permissions: Select which users will be visible to users in this department. This determines the visibility in the following areas:
    • User selection from a User field, such as when a user assigns a case.
    • Profile visibility when a user clicks on another user's name.

Use the   toggle to switch between allowing permissions for all or no users. When you switch the toggle to Nobody, Workflow permanently removes any values that were added and permanently clears the [ All Users ] checkbox if it was checked. When the toggle is On and no permission groups are selected, all users will be visible to this department.

  • Permission Details: Select one or more Permission Groups the department will belong to.

Click Save.

Manage Departments

[Back to top]

To edit the department properties, click the Edit button of the department you want.

Select the Actions icon  to perform any of the following actions:

  • Details: See the record creation and update details.
  • Translate: Displays the default translation value and a list of dictionaries it which the term is translated. To add or change a translation value, select a dictionary from the Translate To list, and enter a new value in the Translation Value field. For more information about specifying values, see Translations. 
  • Download Data: Export data for backup or to import into another tenant. A Workflow Backup file (WFB) downloads with your project. You can then import the file into another tenant using the Migration Manager
  • Show Users: Displays the users related to the department, permission group, or user type.

  • Delete: Delete the object. You cannot delete objects that are used in default settings, or objects that are in use.  

Default Department

[Back to top]

You can designate a default department. All new users for whom you don't select a department will be assigned to the default department.

To designate a default department, enter the department name in the Select a default department field.

Filter Departments

[Back to top]

You can use filters to find specific data. You can filter departments by Name and System ID. For information and examples of creating filter queries, see Search & Filter Data.