[+]
[+]
[-]
 [+]
  
 [+]
 [+]
  
 [-]
   
   
   
   
   
   
   
   
   
   
   
   
   
   
   
   
   
   
   
   
   
   
   
   
   
   
   
 [+]
 [+]
 [+]
 [+]
 [+]
 [+]
 [+]
 [+]
 [+]
[+]
Updated on 12/10/2019
Workflow Documentation
Edit Case
Direct link to topic in this publication:

PREVIOUS  |  NEXT

Edit Case


By default, Workflow automatically adds this action as a non-transitional action on all workflow statuses, and applies default configuration settings. You can deselect the action when you create a new status, and can add other actions. You can later remove actions, or modify the action settings.

You can enable end users to edit case details with the Edit Case action. Edit the Form Designer to add or remove fields that end users can change. Workflow automatically adds custom fields from the Case Creation form, that you added when you created the workfow, to the Edit Case form.

Important: By default, Workflow displays a Submit button on the form. While you can delete the button from the form, and you can set the visibility permissions to hide the button from select users, we will still display the Submit button to users who have permission to execute the action.

See Form Designer for more information on configuring your form. 


Workflow enables you to customize these specific settings for this action type:

Parameter

Description

Submit Options

Displays the Submit and Next button that will automatically open the next case. 

Clear all approvals

Select to delete all user approvals in a multi user approval action, after the action executes. 


Follower Settings

Select from these options that are enabled by default:

  • Display the Follow this case option that enables users to follow a case.
  • Select Follow this case by default. 

Feed Activity Description

Enter the activity description that will display to end users in the Activity column on a feed.

Note: The user's feed must be configured to include the Activity column in order for the description to display. These options are enabled by default.

Execute this Action Automatically

Select this option to enable automatic execution, when the case will change status. 

Note: We do not display this option when the case does not change status. We also restrict you to one automatic action per status.

Used as Mass Update Action

Select this to option to enable this action as a bulk action. See Mass Update Permissions for more information. 

Message Shown After Action Execution

Enter a message that will display after the action is performed. 


Action Can Be Used as Custom View

Use this option to replace the action with the View Case action. This enables you to customize the view in Form Designer so users can edit the available fields. 


Next Action System ID

Enter the system ID of the action that executes automatically after the current action. 

On default, when a user performs this action, Workflow assigns the case to the current assignee. You can configure a different assignee in this section where you can also elect to allow multiple assignees.