[+]
[+]
[-]
 [-]
   
   
   
   
   
  
 [+]
 [+]
  
 [+]
 [+]
 [+]
 [+]
 [+]
 [+]
 [+]
 [+]
 [+]
 [+]
[+]
Updated on 12/10/2019
Workflow Documentation
Manage Workflows
Direct link to topic in this publication:

PREVIOUS  |  NEXT

Manage Workflows

Quick Links


To update a workflow, go to Setup > Processes > Workflows.

You can use the Edit action to access the Workflow Transition Matrix where you can add, sort or remove statuses and actions.

Select the Actions icon  to execute the following actions on existing workflows:

  • Edit Name: Edit workflow name, and description if desired.
  • Details: See the record creation and update details.
  • List View: Displays the workflow actions in a list view.

  • Translate: Displays the default translation value and a list of dictionaries it which the term is translated. To add or change a translation value, select a dictionary from the Translate To list, and enter a new value in the Translation Value field. For more information about specifying values, see Translations. 
  • Download Data: Export data for backup or to import into another tenant. A Workflow Backup file (WFB) downloads with your project. You can then import the file into another tenant using the Migration Manager
  • Delete: Delete the object. You cannot delete objects that are used in default settings, or objects that are in use.  
  • Delete Workflow and all cases: Deletes the workflow and all associated cases.

Default Workflow

[Back to top]

Workflow enables you to designate a default workflow in the Select a default workflow field in the Workflows workspace. The default workflow will be applied when you create a case using an API that doesn't specify the workflow.

Example: You can create a case using another application by invoking Workflow's RESTful API services. When the case type isn't defined, Workflow will apply the case to the default workflow you designate.

Filter Workflows

[Back to top]

Workflow provides a Filter feature that enables you to find specific data using queries. The available filter parameters depend on the workspace you are searching from. The Workflows feature enables you to filter by these parameters:

  • Name
  • Description
  • System ID
For detailed information and more examples for creating simple and complex queries, see Search & Filter Data.

Copy Workflow

[Back to top]

Workflow enables you to copy a workflow, which can save you considerable time in setting up a new workflow with similar processes of an existing one. This is also useful if you want to modify or create a new version of an existing workflow. You can copy the existing workflow and then update the copy with your changes. You can then thoroughly test the new workflow before you implement its use.  

When you copy a workflow, we copy all statuses, actions, settings, and scripts related to the workflow.


To copy a workflow:

  1. Go to Setup > Processes > Workflows, and select Edit action for a workflow which you want to copy. Workflow Transition Matrix page will open.

  2. Select the Copy Workflow icon from the table or list views.

  3. Complete these form fields on the Add new Workflow wizard:

    • Name: Enter a name.

    • Description: Add a brief description. This is used as an internal note for administrators.
    • Unique Key: Along with the Project key, the workflow key is used as part of the case key, which identifies the case.

      Warning: You cannot change this key once assigned.

  4. Click Copy to finish copying the workflow.


See Add Workflow for more information on creating new workflows.