[+]
[+]
[-]
 [+]
  
 [+]
 [+]
  
 [+]
 [+]
 [+]
 [-]
   
   
   
   
 [+]
 [+]
 [+]
 [+]
 [+]
 [+]
[+]
Updated on 12/10/2019
Workflow Documentation
Mass Update Permissions
Direct link to topic in this publication:

PREVIOUS  |  NEXT

Mass Update Permissions

Quick Links


Workflow enables you to configure permissions for who can execute Global and Workflow type Mass Update actions.

  • Global type actions are workflow actions that can be executed in any workflow by users with permissions. 
  • Workflow type actions are workflow actions for which you have enabled the Used as Mass Update Action option in the Advanced Settings section in the Workflow Action Settings workspace.

When you enable the Used as Mass Update Action option on an action, Workflow automatically adds the action to the list of existing actions in the Mass Update Permissions workspace. The action will also display as an available action in the Mass Update wizard when a user executes the Mass Update action. See Mass Updates for more information on mass update functionality for end users.

To access the Mass Update Permissions workspace, go to Setup > Processes > Mass Update Permissions. Workflow displays a list of existing mass update actions that you can sort and edit.

We allow you to update mass update permission settings for these global type actions:

Global Type Actions

Add Comment

Add User to Team

Approve

Assign

Change Project

Change Status

Change Workflow

Close

Delete Case

Edit Case

Follow Case

Notify Contact

Reject

Reopen

SLA Update



Manage Mass Update Permissions

[Back to top]

Workflow enables you to sort and edit the list of mass update actions. To sort by action name in ascending or descending order, click the Name label or the  Sort icon in the header of the table. To edit an action, click the Edit button near the action you wish to update. 

Go to Setup > Processes > Mass Update Permissions to access the  Mass Update Permissions workspace


Create Workflow Type Mass Update Action

[Back to top]

To create a Workflow type mass update action:

  1. Go to Setup > Processes > Workflows and select the Edit button near the workflow you wish to edit.
  2. Add a new action in the desired position in the Workflow Transition Matrix. See Add New Action for more information.
  3. Complete these form fields:
    • Action Type: Select from the list of allowed action types. 
    • Action Name: This is the label that will appear on the action to end users, on the list of existing mass update actions in the Mass Update Permissions workspace, and on the list of available actions in the Mass Update wizard when a user executes the mass update functionality.
    • System ID: A unique identifier, automatically generated when you name an object. You can use this identifier to reference an object in scripts, templates, tags, and through the API. You can change the System ID by selecting the pencil icon. Use caution when changing the ID as it can affect existing scripts associated with the object. For more information, see System ID.

    • Clear the Active checkbox if you want to configure the action, but make it inactive. 
    • System Roles: Select the system roles that will be able to execute this action.
    • Permission Groups: Select the permission groups that will be able to execute this action. You can also create a new permission group using the Add New link.
  4. Open the Advanced Settings panel and enable the Used as Mass Update Action option. This option will only appear on allowable action types. 
  5. Configure any other settings as desired. 
  6. Save your new Workflow type mass update action. 


Edit Global Type Permissions

[Back to top]

To edit permissions on a mass update action: 

  1. In the Mass Update Permissions workspace, click the Edit button next to the action you wish to update. 
  2. Update these fields:
    • Name: This is the label that will appear on the list of existing mass update actions in the Mass Update Permissions workspace, and on the list of available actions in the Mass Update wizard when a user executes the mass update functionality.
    • Validate Workflow Permissions: This option enables you to control for which action types an end user can execute a mass update operation. When this checkbox is:
      • Enabled: And an end user executes a mass update operation, the Mass Update Wizard evaluates the permission settings, and only allows the user to select the cases that:
        • Are in a workflow status that includes the action type for which you enabled the Validate Workflow Permissions option. 
        • The user has permissions to execute the action.
      • Disabled: Everyone from the selected permission groups and system roles will be able to execute the mass update operation on the action, regardless of the workflow or status.
    • Permission Group: Define who will be able to execute this action. 

      • Use the following toggle to switch between allowing all or no users to execute the action:  
        When you switch the toggle to Nobody, Workflow permanently removes any values that were added to the Permission Groups and Roles field and we clear the [ All Users ] checkbox if it was checked.
      • Permission Groups and Roles: Select the [ All Users ] checkbox to enable all users to execute the action, or enter one or more specific permission groups from the list. Display the list by pressing your Enter key or Down Arrow on your keyboard, or you can start typing to display a list of related values. 

      Important: If you don't select at least one Permission Groups and Roles value when the toggle is On, all users will be able to execute the action regardless of the [ All Users ] setting.


  3. Click Update to save your settings. 


Edit Workflow Type Permissions

[Back to top]

To edit a Workflow type mass update action:

  1. In the Mass Update Permissions workspace, click the Edit button next to the Workflow type action you wish to update. Workflow opens the Workflow Action Settings workspace. 
  2. Update these fields:
    • Name: This is the label that will appear on the action to end users, on the list of existing mass update actions in the Mass Update Permissions workspace, and on the list of available actions in the Mass Update wizard when a user executes the mass update functionality.
    • System ID: A unique identifier, automatically generated when you name an object. You can use this identifier to reference an object in scripts, templates, tags, and through the API. You can change the System ID by selecting the pencil icon. Use caution when changing the ID as it can affect existing scripts associated with the object. For more information, see System ID.

    • Active: Clear the checkbox to disable the action or leave it checked to keep the action active.
    • System Roles: Select system roles that will be able to execute this action.
    • Permission Groups: Select permission groups that will be able to execute this action.
  3. Apply any other action settings as desired.
  4. Save your settings.
  5. Use the Back button on your browser to return to the Mass Update Permissions workspace.