[+]
[+]
[-]
 [+]
  
 [+]
 [+]
  
 [+]
 [+]
 [+]
 [+]
 [+]
 [-]
  [+]
   
   
   
   
   
   
   
   
 [+]
 [+]
 [+]
 [+]
[+]
Updated on 12/10/2019
Workflow Documentation
Permission Groups
Direct link to topic in this publication:

PREVIOUS  |  NEXT

Permission Groups

Quick Links


A Permission Group is a group of users, user types, or departments that you can define, then later use to assign view and edit permissions. Permission group settings are available for configuration in various locations throughout the application, such as:

To access the workspace, go to Setup > Users > Permission Groups.  

Manage Permission Groups

[Back to top]

Workflow enables you to search, sort, add, update, and remove permission groups in the  Permission Groups workspace. 

You can use the Edit button to edit a Permission Group's properties.

Select the Actions icon  to execute the following actions:

  • Details: See the record creation and update details.
  • Show Users: Displays the users related to the department, permission group, or user type.

  • Download Data: Export data for backup or to import into another tenant. A Workflow Backup file (WFB) downloads with your project. You can then import the file into another tenant using the Migration Manager
  • Translate: Displays the default translation value and a list of dictionaries it which the term is translated. To add or change a translation value, select a dictionary from the Translate To list, and enter a new value in the Translation Value field. For more information about specifying values, see Translations. 
  • Delete: Deletes the Permission Group. You cannot undo this action.

Add Permission Group

[Back to top]

To create a new permission group:

  1. Go to Setup > Users > Permission Groups and click the Add New button.
  2. Complete the form fields:
    • Name: Enter a name.

    • System ID: A unique identifier, automatically generated when you name an object. You can use this identifier to reference an object in scripts, templates, tags, and through the API. You can change the System ID by selecting the pencil icon. Use caution when changing the ID as it can affect existing scripts associated with the object. For more information, see System ID.

    • Description: Add a brief description. This is used as an internal note for administrators.
  3. For the following fields, start typing a name, or press your Enter or Down Arrow key on your keyboard to display a list of available values. You can select multiple values that will display in the field, and you can remove a value by clicking the blue delete icon on the value you wish to remove from the list. These values will define who will belong to this permission group:
    • Specific User
    • Departments
    • User Types
  4. Click Save to save your permission group.

Filter Permission Groups

[Back to top]

Workflow provides a Filter feature that enables you to find specific data using queries. The available filter parameters depend on the workspace you are searching from. The Permission Groups feature enables you to filter by these parameters:

  • Name
  • Departments
  • User Types

For detailed information and more examples for creating simple and complex queries, see Search & Filter Data.