Share:

PREVIOUS  |  NEXT

Priority Field

Quick Links


The Priority Field is a specific standard field that enables you to specify the urgency of a case. All cases in a workflow have a priority.

You can add a priority field to the page layout for workflow actions and forms from the Standard Tab in the Form Designer.

You can define basic settings, visibility permissions, and label and value styles to your priority field. For detailed information on how to add a priority field to a page layout, see Add Field to Page Layout.

To access the Priority Field workspace, go to Setup > Fields & Forms > Priority Field.

Create New Priority Field

[Back to top]

To create a new priority field:

  1. Go to Setup > Fields & Forms > Priority Field and select the New Priority link:
  2. Complete the form fields:
    • Name: Enter a name.

    • System ID: A unique identifier, automatically generated when you name an object. You can use this identifier to reference an object in scripts, templates, tags, and through the API. You can change the System ID by selecting the pencil icon. Use caution when changing the ID as it can affect existing scripts associated with the object. For more information, see System ID.

    • Description: Add a brief description. This is used as an internal note for administrators.
    • Priority Permissions: Select which system roles and permission groups will be able to select the priority for a case.
  3. Click Add to finish creating your new priority field.

Manage Priority Fields

[Back to top]

You can use drag & drop to change the order of existing priority fields and you can perform these available Actions:

  • Edit: Edit the object properties.

  • Details: See the record creation and update details.
  • Translate: Select a dictionary and enter a translation value. For more information, see Translations.
  • Download Data: Export data for backup or to import into another tenant. A Workflow Backup file (WFB) downloads with your project. You can then import the file into another tenant using the Migration Manager
  • Delete: Delete the object. You cannot delete objects that are used in default settings, or objects that are in use.  
Workflow enables you to designate a default priority. When an end user creates a new case without selecting the priority, Workflow will apply the default priority. 

Select one of the existing priority fields from the list and click the Set Default button.

You can enable end users to change the priority of a case by adding the Priority field to the page layout of a workflow action. You can also change the priority level through scripting or post actions. See Scripts and Post Actions for more information.

Important: To enable users to view the priority of a case, you need to add the priority standard field to the View Case action.