[+]
[+]
[-]
 [+]
  
 [+]
 [+]
  
 [+]
 [+]
 [+]
 [+]
 [+]
 [-]
  [+]
   
   
   
   
   
   
   
   
 [+]
 [+]
 [+]
 [+]
[+]
Updated on 12/10/2019
Workflow Documentation
User Types
Direct link to topic in this publication:

PREVIOUS  |  NEXT

User Types

Quick Links


Every user is associated with a user type which helps define characteristics for similar users. User types enable you to organize your users. For more information on how to organize users, see Users Menu.

User types can represent users from the same functional area or can be a group of users with the same role within a company. User type examples include, but are not limited to:

  • Customers
  • Partners
  • Administrators
  • Managers

Manage User Types

[Back to top]

You can access the User Types workspace by going to Setup > Users > User Types. You can create new user types, modify existing user types, and assign a default user type in this workspace. 

You can use the Edit action to edit the user types properties.

Select the Actions icon  to execute the following Actions:
  • Details: See the record creation and update details.
  • Translate: Displays the default translation value and a list of dictionaries it which the term is translated. To add or change a translation value, select a dictionary from the Translate To list, and enter a new value in the Translation Value field. For more information about specifying values, see Translations. 
  • Download Data: Export data for backup or to import into another tenant. A Workflow Backup file (WFB) downloads with your project. You can then import the file into another tenant using the Migration Manager
  • Show Users: Displays the users related to the department, permission group, or user type.

  • Delete: Delete the object. You cannot delete objects that are used in default settings, or objects that are in use.  
In this case, you cannot delete a user type that is associated with a user. 

Create New User Type

[Back to top]

To create a new user type:

  1. Click the New User Type link.
  2. Complete the form fields: 
    • Name: Enter a name.

    • System ID: A unique identifier, automatically generated when you name an object. You can use this identifier to reference an object in scripts, templates, tags, and through the API. You can change the System ID by selecting the pencil icon. Use caution when changing the ID as it can affect existing scripts associated with the object. For more information, see System ID.

    • Permission Details: Select the Permission Group the user type will belong to.
  3. Click Save to save your new User Type.

Default User Type

[Back to top]

Workflow enables you to designate a default user type in the Select a default user type field at the bottom of the User Types workspace. When you create a new user without assigning a user type, Workflow will assign the default user type to the new user. 

Filter User Types

[Back to top]

Workflow provides a Filter feature that enables you to find specific data using queries. The available filter parameters depend on the workspace you are searching from. The User Type feature enables you to filter by these parameters:

  • Name
  • System ID

For detailed information and more examples for creating simple and complex queries, see Search & Filter Data.